- The Short Answer: What CFFA Stands For
- Who Issues It and Where It Sits in the Fleet Ladder
- Who Can Sit for It
- What the Exam Looks Like
- The Eight Course Areas You Prepare Around
- Fees, Vouchers and Scheduling Mechanics
- Staying Certified: The Five-Year Cycle
- Who Uses This Credential
- Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Eight Areas
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CFFA means Certified Federal Fleet Administrator, issued through the National Property Management Association (NPMA).
- The exam is 75 multiple-choice questions in 116 minutes, delivered through Kryterion.
- You need an active CFFS plus at least one year of associated fleet-management experience to qualify.
- The official course package is $1,725 for members and $1,885 for nonmembers, exam included.
The Short Answer: What CFFA Stands For
CFFA stands for Certified Federal Fleet Administrator. It is a professional credential for people who manage, oversee or advise on vehicle fleets operating under federal rules and expectations. If you have landed here after seeing the same four letters attached to other professional designations, set those aside: this article covers only the fleet credential offered through NPMA.
The designation signals that the holder understands how a federal fleet is governed, maintained, sized, funded, de-risked and eventually replaced. It is not a general automotive credential and it is not a mechanic's certificate. It is an administrator's credential, which means the exam leans on policy, planning and decision-making rather than wrenching skills.
If you want more variations on the same question, we maintain separate explainers on what CFFA stands for and the broader CFFA meaning. This article goes a level deeper into how the credential actually works.
Who Issues It and Where It Sits in the Fleet Ladder
The credential is administered by the National Property Management Association, Inc. (NPMA). NPMA offers a fleet certification track with multiple levels, and the CFFA is positioned above the CFFS (Certified Federal Fleet Specialist). That relationship matters in two practical ways:
- It is a prerequisite relationship. You must hold an active CFFS before you can pursue the CFFA.
- It shapes renewal. NPMA's renewal approach applies to the highest fleet level you hold, so a CFFA holder renews the CFFA rather than maintaining parallel renewals at each level.
NPMA names Fleet-Wi$e Management Group as the training partner for the program. The course is the official on-ramp to the exam, and its eight published content areas are the closest thing to a syllabus that candidates have.
Who Can Sit for It
The CFFA is not an open-enrollment exam. Based on the program's published requirements, candidates need:
- An active CFFS credential.
- At least one year of associated fleet-management experience.
- A completed application.
- An approved Work Experience Summary.
No additional degree requirement and no specific reference-count requirement has been verified, so you should not assume either one applies. The Work Experience Summary is the item candidates most often underestimate: it has to be approved, not merely submitted, so start it early. For a fuller walkthrough of prerequisites, see our guide to CFFA requirements and how to qualify.
What the Exam Looks Like
The examination is delivered through Kryterion, either online-proctored or at a testing center. The verified format details are:
| Feature | What Is Known |
|---|---|
| Question count | 75 multiple-choice questions |
| Time allowed | 116 minutes |
| Delivery | Kryterion, online-proctored or testing center |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Not disclosed |
| Numerical passing score | Not verified |
| Credential-specific pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Open-book, calculator, adaptive policies | Not verified |
| Public numbered exam version | None verified |
Do the arithmetic on timing: 116 minutes across 75 questions leaves a bit over a minute and a half per item. That is comfortable for recall questions and tight only if you let scenario-style items stall you. Because the passing score and pass rate are not public, be skeptical of any site quoting a specific cut score or percentage. We cover what is and is not known on our pages about the CFFA passing score and the CFFA pass rate.
The Eight Course Areas You Prepare Around
NPMA publishes eight course areas for CFFA preparation. These are unweighted topic areas drawn from the issuer's course, not an official weighted or exhaustive exam blueprint. No official domain count, percentage weighting or "largest domain" has been verified, so prepare for breadth rather than gambling on one heavy area. Our complete guide to all eight CFFA content areas expands on each.
Domain 1: Introductions and Fleet Management Overview
The foundation: what federal fleet management is trying to accomplish and how the pieces fit together.
- Roles and responsibilities of a fleet administrator
- How fleet functions connect across acquisition, operation, maintenance and disposal
- Vocabulary you will see reused in every later area
Domain 2: 41 CFR 102-34
The regulatory backbone. This is the federal motor vehicle management regulation, and candidates should be comfortable reading and applying it rather than just recognizing its citation.
- Practice translating regulatory language into operational decisions
- Confirm you are working from the current text when studying
Domain 3: Executive-order requirements and policy changes
Federal fleet policy shifts with administrations. The issuer's course page still carries an EO 14057 heading, but treat that as dated curriculum wording.
- Verify the current legal status of any cited order and any successor requirements against current federal sources
- Do not assume an executive order remains in force just because course material references it
Domain 4: Alternative Fuels and Zero Emission Vehicles
How alternative-fuel and zero-emission vehicles fit into a federal fleet.
- Matching vehicle technology to mission and location
- Considering fueling and charging implications when planning
Domain 5: Fleet Maintenance
Maintenance from an administrator's seat: programs, scheduling, cost and condition tracking rather than shop technique.
- Preventive versus reactive maintenance approaches
- How maintenance data informs replacement and utilization decisions
Domain 6: Vehicle Allocation Method
Determining how many vehicles, and which kinds, an organization actually needs. The course describes this under right-sizing.
- Justifying fleet size and composition
- Identifying underused assets
Domain 7: Risk Management
Identifying and controlling fleet exposure.
- Operational, safety and liability considerations
- Applying controls and documentation practices
Domain 8: Fleet Replacement Planning
Deciding when and why vehicles leave the fleet and what replaces them.
- Replacement criteria and lifecycle thinking
- Linking replacement to maintenance history, allocation and alternative-fuel goals
Notice how interconnected these areas are. Maintenance data feeds replacement planning; allocation decisions drive both cost and risk; regulation and executive-order requirements constrain nearly everything. Exam questions that test one area frequently reward knowledge of a neighbor.
Fees, Vouchers and Scheduling Mechanics
Pricing is where candidates most often get confused, so here is exactly what has been verified:
| Item | Verified Detail |
|---|---|
| Official indexed course package | $1,725 member / $1,885 nonmember |
| What the package includes | Exam, administrative and application fees |
| Standalone exam-only fee | Not verified |
| Public retake listing | $525 |
| Account-specific member retake pricing | Not verified |
| Voucher validity | 90 days (as described by the program) |
| Minimum scheduling notice | 24 hours |
| Retake wait | 30 days |
| Late-change thresholds | 24 hours online / 72 hours at a testing center; exact late fee unverified |
Two practical points follow. First, the 90-day voucher window creates a real deadline: finish the application, complete the course and schedule within that period rather than treating the voucher as open-ended. Second, the 30-day retake wait means a failed attempt costs you at least a month plus the retake fee, so a rushed first attempt is expensive in both time and money. For a fuller breakdown, see our CFFA certification cost guide and the page on exam dates and scheduling.
Key Takeaway
Schedule your exam while the course is fresh, but not so early that you skip practice. The 90-day voucher window, the 30-day retake wait and the $525 public retake listing all reward one well-prepared attempt over a rushed first try.
Staying Certified: The Five-Year Cycle
The CFFA is valid for five years. Renewal works differently from many credentials, so read this carefully:
- Criteria, not CEUs. Renewing the CFFA requires three of seven documented qualifying criteria. It is not a matter of collecting three continuing-education units.
- Highest level only. You renew only your highest fleet level.
- Fees. $75 for members, $150 for nonmembers.
- Timing. Apply 30 days before expiry.
- Late policy. The published policy adds $100 for days 31-120 after expiry, and retesting is required beyond 120 days.
Keep documentation of qualifying activities as you go instead of reconstructing it in year five. A lapse beyond 120 days sends you back to the exam, which is the costliest way to learn the renewal rules.
Who Uses This Credential
Because the content centers on federal fleet regulation, executive-order requirements and federal vehicle management practice, the credential is most relevant to people working in or alongside federal fleets: agency fleet managers and administrators, fleet program staff, and contractors or consultants who support federal fleet operations. The curriculum's emphasis on allocation, maintenance oversight, risk and replacement planning maps to the real responsibilities of those roles.
We have not verified specific hiring statistics or salary figures for the credential, so we won't quote any here. If you are weighing whether it fits your path, our pages on CFFA jobs, the salary guide and whether the certification is worth it walk through the considerations.
Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Eight Areas
Because the eight areas are unweighted and the official blueprint is unpublished, the smart move is to study in an order that builds dependencies rather than chasing a guess about what is heaviest. Here is one sequence that tracks how the topics reinforce each other:
Foundations and regulation
- Fleet management overview (Domain 1)
- Read 41 CFR 102-34 directly and note terminology (Domain 2)
Policy and technology
- Executive-order requirements, verified against current federal sources (Domain 3)
- Alternative fuels and zero-emission vehicles (Domain 4)
Operations and sizing
- Fleet maintenance (Domain 5)
- Vehicle allocation method (Domain 6)
Risk, replacement and timed practice
- Risk management (Domain 7)
- Fleet replacement planning (Domain 8)
- Full-length timed sets of 75 questions in 116 minutes
Maintenance and allocation sit before replacement because replacement decisions draw on both. For a deeper plan, see our CFFA study guide, the one-page CFFA cheat sheet for last-minute review, and our look at how hard the exam is. When you are ready to test yourself, work through the question sets on the main practice test site, and use the full practice exam library for timed runs.
Frequently Asked Questions
CFFA stands for Certified Federal Fleet Administrator, a fleet-management credential offered through the National Property Management Association (NPMA). For more variations on this question, see our pages on what CFFA certification is and what a CFFA is.
The exam has 75 multiple-choice questions and a 116-minute time limit. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed, and a numerical passing score has not been verified.
Yes. An active CFFS is required, along with at least one year of associated fleet-management experience, an application and an approved Work Experience Summary.
The official indexed course package is $1,725 for members and $1,885 for nonmembers, and it includes the exam plus administrative and application fees. A standalone exam-only fee has not been verified. A public retake listing shows $525.
It is valid for five years. Renewal requires three of seven documented qualifying criteria, costs $75 for members or $150 for nonmembers, and should be submitted 30 days before expiry. Late renewals add $100 for days 31-120, and beyond 120 days you must retest.