- What the Public Data Actually Shows
- Why NPMA Doesn't Publish a Pass Rate
- The Exam Format Behind the Question
- Where Candidates Are Filtered Before Test Day
- Which Domains Carry the Most Failure Risk
- What a Failed Attempt Costs You
- Who Sits the CFFA and Who Hires for It
- A Domain-Ordered Preparation Plan
- How to Evaluate Pass-Rate Claims You See Online
- Frequently Asked Questions
- NPMA does not publicly disclose a current pass rate for the Certified Federal Fleet Administrator exam.
- The exam is 75 multiple-choice questions in 116 minutes, delivered through Kryterion.
- A retake is publicly listed at $525, with a 30-day wait before you can sit again.
- You need an active CFFS and a year of fleet experience before you can even apply.
What the Public Data Actually Shows
If you searched for the Certified Federal Fleet Administrator pass rate hoping to find a tidy percentage, here is the honest answer: there isn't a verified one. The National Property Management Association (NPMA), which issues the credential, has not published a current credential-specific pass rate. The numerical passing score is not public either. Anyone quoting you a precise figure, such as "78% of candidates pass," is either guessing or recycling a number from a different credential that happens to share the CFFA acronym.
That matters because several unrelated certifications use the same four letters. This article is exclusively about the Certified Federal Fleet Administrator, the NPMA fleet credential aimed at people who manage federal vehicle fleets. Pass-rate statistics, fees, and exam formats from other CFFA-branded programs do not apply here.
So what can we say with confidence? We can describe the structure of the exam, the gates that filter candidates before they ever sit it, the cost of a failed attempt, and the domains where preparation tends to matter most. Those facts let you estimate your own risk far better than a headline percentage would. For a broader read on difficulty, see our guide on how hard the CFFA exam is.
Why NPMA Doesn't Publish a Pass Rate
Certification bodies vary widely in how much outcome data they release. Some publish annual pass rates; many do not. For a niche, specialist credential like this one, there are plausible reasons a number may not be released:
- Small candidate pools. The CFFA serves a narrow professional community: federal and federally adjacent fleet managers. Small cohorts make year-over-year percentages volatile and statistically thin.
- Course-package delivery. The exam is bundled with a two-day, 16-hour training course. Candidates who complete structured training before testing are a self-selected group, which makes a raw pass rate hard to interpret.
- Experience gating. Because applicants must already hold an active CFFS and have fleet experience, the population sitting the exam is pre-screened.
These are reasons a number might be absent, not claims about what NPMA's internal data says. The takeaway is simple: don't build your study confidence around a statistic that does not exist publicly. Build it around the exam's actual structure instead. The related question of cut scores is covered in our article on the CFFA passing score, where the same caveat applies: the numerical threshold is not verified.
The Exam Format Behind the Question
Understanding the format tells you more about your odds than any aggregate percentage. Here is what is verified about the Certified Federal Fleet Administrator exam:
| Element | What Is Verified |
|---|---|
| Question count | 75 multiple-choice questions |
| Time allowed | 116 minutes |
| Delivery | Kryterion, online-proctored or at a testing center |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Not disclosed |
| Passing score | Numerical score not verified |
| Open-book, calculator, adaptive policies | Not verified |
| Official weighted blueprint | Not verified |
Doing the arithmetic, 116 minutes across 75 questions works out to roughly a minute and a half per item. For a multiple-choice format, that is a comfortable pace, and it suggests the exam is designed to test recall and applied judgment rather than to be a race. Timing pressure is unlikely to be the main reason candidates fall short; content gaps are the more probable culprit.
Notice what is missing from the table: an official weighted blueprint. NPMA has not published how many questions come from each content area. The eight domains used throughout this site reflect the published course areas, and they are unweighted preparation topics rather than an official exam breakdown. For a full walkthrough of each area, see our complete guide to the eight CFFA content areas.
Where Candidates Are Filtered Before Test Day
One reason a published pass rate would be hard to interpret is that the credential has real prerequisites. You cannot walk in cold. To sit the exam you need:
- An active CFFS credential (the entry-level fleet certification that precedes this one).
- At least one year of associated fleet-management experience.
- A completed application with an approved Work Experience Summary.
No additional degree requirement and no reference-count requirement has been verified. The full eligibility picture is laid out in our guide to CFFA requirements and how to qualify.
This layered gating means the people who reach exam day have already demonstrated fleet experience and passed an earlier credential. A candidate pool that is experienced and pre-credentialed tends to perform differently from an open-enrollment pool, which is exactly why you should be cautious about comparing this exam to others on raw pass-rate numbers.
Which Domains Carry the Most Failure Risk
Without an official blueprint we cannot say which domain is largest, and we won't pretend to. What we can do is flag where preparation is most likely to pay off, based on the nature of each topic. The eight published course areas are:
Domain 1: Introductions and Fleet Management Overview
The conceptual foundation. Expect terminology, roles, and the framing of federal fleet management as a discipline.
- Low memorization burden, but it frames vocabulary used in every later domain
Domain 2: 41 CFR 102-34
The Federal Management Regulation provisions governing motor vehicle management. This is rule-heavy, detail-oriented material.
- Regulatory text rewards precise reading; near-miss answer choices are common in rule-based questions
- Verify any regulatory detail against the current federal source rather than relying on memory or old notes
Domain 3: Executive-order requirements and policy changes
The highest-risk domain for outdated study material. The issuer's course page still carries an EO 14057 heading, which should be treated as dated curriculum wording.
- Do not assume any cited executive order remains in force
- Check current legal status and successor requirements against current federal sources before treating any policy as settled
Domain 4: Alternative Fuels and Zero Emission Vehicles
Covers alternative-fuel and zero-emission vehicle topics within a federal fleet context, an area where policy and technology both move quickly.
Domain 5: Fleet Maintenance
Practical, operations-oriented content. Candidates with hands-on fleet experience often find this one intuitive.
Domain 6: Vehicle Allocation Method
Right-sizing and allocation logic: matching fleet size and composition to mission need.
- Expect applied reasoning, not just definitions
Domain 7: Risk Management
Identifying, assessing, and mitigating fleet-related risk.
Domain 8: Fleet Replacement Planning
Replacement criteria and lifecycle decision-making, tying together maintenance, cost, and policy considerations.
If any single factor most threatens a first-attempt pass, it is the combination of Domains 2 and 3: dense regulatory content plus policy that can change underneath you. Candidates who study from older, unrevised notes are the most exposed. Our CFFA study guide covers how to build current, source-verified notes for exactly these areas.
What a Failed Attempt Costs You
Even without a pass rate, you can quantify the downside of not passing. The official indexed course package is $1,725 for NPMA members and $1,885 for nonmembers, and it includes the exam, administrative, and application fees. A standalone exam-only fee has not been verified.
If you don't pass, the publicly listed retake fee is $525, though account-specific member retake pricing has not been verified. Scheduling rules add friction:
- 90-day voucher validity as described by the program.
- Minimum 24-hour scheduling notice for appointments.
- 30-day wait before a retake.
- Late-change thresholds of 24 hours online / 72 hours at a testing center; the exact late fee is unverified.
| Cost Item | Amount / Rule |
|---|---|
| Course package (member) | $1,725 |
| Course package (nonmember) | $1,885 |
| Public retake listing | $525 |
| Mandatory wait before retake | 30 days |
| Voucher validity | 90 days |
The practical point: a retake costs roughly a third of the original member package and costs you at least a month. If your employer is funding the credential, a failed attempt can also mean a second approval conversation. Our CFFA certification cost breakdown walks through the full pricing picture, including renewal.
Key Takeaway
Because the 90-day voucher window and 30-day retake wait overlap, schedule your first attempt early enough that a retake still falls inside your funding or approval window. Confirm the exact current terms with NPMA before booking.
Who Sits the CFFA and Who Hires for It
The Certified Federal Fleet Administrator targets people who manage motor vehicle fleets in the federal sphere: fleet managers, fleet program coordinators, and personnel responsible for compliance with federal vehicle-management regulation. Because the content centers on 41 CFR 102-34, executive-order requirements, and agency-level fleet planning, the credential is most relevant in roles tied to federal agencies and the contractors who support them.
We won't cite salary figures or hiring statistics here, since none are verified. For the career side of the question, see our analysis of CFFA jobs and the broader ROI analysis on whether the certification is worth it.
One more structural point: the credential is valid for five years and renewal is tied to documented qualifying criteria, not simple continuing-education hours. CFFA renewal requires three of seven documented qualifying criteria, not three CEUs. Renewal costs $75 for members and $150 for nonmembers, applications are due 30 days before expiry, and the published late policy adds $100 for days 31-120, with retesting required beyond 120 days. Only the highest fleet level is renewed.
A Domain-Ordered Preparation Plan
Since there is no official weighting, the sensible approach is to sequence study by difficulty and volatility, putting the content most likely to trip you up where you'll have time to verify and revisit it. Here is one way to order an eight-week effort around the official course areas:
Foundations and the Regulation
- Domain 1: Introductions and Fleet Management Overview, to lock in vocabulary
- Domain 2: 41 CFR 102-34, read against the current federal text, not old summaries
Policy Volatility
- Domain 3: Executive-order requirements and policy changes
- Verify current status and successor requirements before memorizing anything
Operational Core
- Domain 4: Alternative Fuels and Zero Emission Vehicles
- Domain 5: Fleet Maintenance
Planning and Judgment
- Domain 6: Vehicle Allocation Method
- Domain 7: Risk Management
- Domain 8: Fleet Replacement Planning
Integration
- Mixed-domain practice under the 116-minute limit
- Revisit Domains 2 and 3 last, since they carry the most risk of stale knowledge
The logic: put the regulation early so it has time to sink in, but revisit Domain 3 at the end because policy details are the easiest to misremember or find outdated. Our CFFA cheat sheet is useful for the final-week review, and you can test yourself against realistic question styles on the main practice test site.
How to Evaluate Pass-Rate Claims You See Online
Because no official number exists, the web is full of unsupported claims. Apply a quick filter:
- Check the credential. Does the source clearly mean the NPMA Certified Federal Fleet Administrator, or is it describing a different program that shares the acronym?
- Look for attribution. A real pass rate cites the issuing body and a time period. Vague "most people pass" or "only X% pass" statements without a source are noise.
- Watch for precision without provenance. A suspiciously exact figure with no methodology is a red flag.
- Check the date. Even a genuine figure from several years ago may not reflect current exam content, especially given how much federal fleet policy has shifted.
For the foundational questions about what the credential is, our explainer on what CFFA certification is is a good starting point, and if you're comparing training routes, see our overview of CFFA training. When in doubt, go to the primary source: the NPMA fleet certification pages are the authoritative reference, and you should confirm current fees, policies, and scheduling directly with them before committing.
Frequently Asked Questions
No verified current pass rate is publicly disclosed by NPMA. The numerical passing score is also not published. Be skeptical of any specific percentage that doesn't cite NPMA directly, as it may belong to a different credential that uses the same CFFA acronym.
The exam has 75 multiple-choice questions and runs 116 minutes. It is delivered through Kryterion, either online-proctored or at a testing center. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed.
The publicly listed retake fee is $525, though account-specific member pricing hasn't been verified. The program describes a 30-day wait before retaking, and a 90-day voucher validity period. Confirm current terms with NPMA before scheduling.
Yes. You need an active CFFS, at least one year of associated fleet-management experience, a completed application, and an approved Work Experience Summary. No additional degree or reference-count requirement has been verified.
No official weighting exists, so no domain can be called the largest. However, Domain 2 (41 CFR 102-34) is rule-dense and Domain 3 (executive-order requirements and policy changes) involves dated curriculum wording, so verify both against current federal sources rather than relying on older notes.
In the absence of a published pass rate, the smartest move is to prepare against what is knowable: a 75-question, 116-minute exam, eight defined course areas, firm eligibility gates, and a retake that costs both money and a month. Build your plan around those facts, verify the regulatory and policy content against current sources, and use realistic practice to find your weak domains before test day.